CURFEW (Illinois Law 720 ILCS
By John M. Carpino
It is unlawful for a person less than 17 years of age to be present at or upon any public assembly, building, place, street or highway at the following times unless accompanied and supervised by a parent, legal guardian, or other responsible companion at least 18 years of age approved by a parent or legal guardian or unless engaged in a business or occupation which the laws of the state authorize a person less than 17 years of age to perform:
1. Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Saturday;
2. Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Sunday; and
3. Between 11:00 p.m. on Sunday to Thursday, inclusive, and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
It is unlawful for a parent, legal guardian, or other person to knowingly permit a person in his or her custody or control to violate the above. Check with your local community as municipalities have the authority by ordinance to adopt and increase the time requirements set by the state.
License Issued to Drivers
Under 17 (Illinois
If the licensee is less than 17 years of age, the license shall, as a matter of law, be invalid for the operation of any motor vehicle during any time the licensee is prohibited from being on any street or highway under the provisions of the Child Curfew Act as outlined above (720 ILCS 555/1.)
In other words if your child is out after the curfew hour and is less than 17 years of age chances are you may be receiving a phone call from your local police dept.
In addition if your child under 17 years of age is out after the curfew hour and is operating a motor vehicle, not en route home from a authorized job and without authorized adult supervision, their drivers license is invalid.
This is the law in Illinois. Check with your respective communities and ask if they have a local ordinance regarding curfew that is stricter than the state law.
For those of you outside of Illinois check the laws in your state and community.
State laws should be accessible via the Internet. Your local library will have a copy of the most recent edition of your Revised Statutes or Compiled Statutes.
If your local police department is not on-line, to check on a local curfew ordinance, simply give them a call at their administrative telephone number.
SafetyCops say rather than argue with your teen, show
'em the law as it speaks for itself. I have a 16 year old teen and she knows the difference from state law, municipal law and
SafetyCops Law !